Swedish school for new arrivals


Special needs upper secondary school

For young people aged 16-20, with intellectual disabilities


What is special needs upper secondary school?

Special needs upper secondary school is a tuition-free, voluntary form of schooling that young people with intellectual disabilities can choose to attend after finishing special needs comprehensive school. Special needs upper secondary school offers national as well as individual programmes. 

There are nine national upper secondary programmes. Each programme is four years long and comprises some standard subjects and some programme-specific subjects, programme specialisation and project work.

National programmes are primarily vocational. A national programme can also be done as upper secondary apprenticeship training.

Individual programmes are intended for pupils who are unable to do a national programme. Each programme is four years long and is made up of subject areas.

Subject areas are:

  • Nature and environment
  • Society and the individual
  • Domestic and consumer sciences
  • Language and communication
  • Physical education and health
  • Aesthetic activities

Placements can also be included on the individual programmes.

Who attends special needs upper secondary school?

Special needs upper secondary school is directed at young people between 16 and 20 with an intellectual disability, who have been assessed as unable to achieve the goals of upper secondary school. After the age of 20 there is the possibility of attending special needs adult education.

How are assessments made and grades awarded?

Pupils studying on courses are graded after each completed course. For each course there is a set of knowledge requirements specifying what the pupil has to achieve. Grades are not awarded for subject areas; instead, the pupil’s knowledge is assessed on a requirement level basis.

A five-point grading scale (A, B, C, D and E) is used. A is the highest grade and E is the lowest. If the pupil does not attain the requirements for an E, no grade is awarded.